1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SetUserData & GetUserData

Discussion in 'Alibre Script' started by NateLiqGrav, Mar 10, 2019.

  1. NateLiqGrav

    NateLiqGrav Alibre Super User

    Andy,
    Can you explain more about SetUserData and GetUserData?

    Specifically does this store data inside the actual files or does it store them somewhere else and link to the files? Or does that depend on the option being checked?
    save_load.png


    Possibly related: What does the button "Delete all stored settings" do? I'm afraid to test it and possibly loose something I need.
    utilities.png
     
  2. ajayre

    ajayre Alibre Super User

    SetUserData stores data in the part file. GetUserData reads it back out. The checkbox is there to allow users to create part files that do not contain any AlibreScript data. Uncheck that and SaveUserData won't save data, it will be lost, but that's the user's choice.

    Delete All Stored Settings deletes the user-specific preferences for Alibre Script. Only required if something gets corrupted and so far I have not had reports of anyone getting those settings corrupted. It's there just in case. ;)

    Andy
     
  3. NateLiqGrav

    NateLiqGrav Alibre Super User

    It seems like SetUserData and GetUserData still does work with it unchecked. Perhaps in memory until Alibre is closed? I haven't tested that though.
     
  4. ajayre

    ajayre Alibre Super User

    User preferences should be reloaded when AS is closed and reopened.

    Andy
     

Share This Page