1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rookie Question: editing constraints

Discussion in 'Using Alibre Design' started by Dephil, Jul 15, 2020.

1. Dephil

Dephil New Member

I am a complete beginner at Alibre but it is really cool.

Is there a way to directly edit constraints (as in select and delete a constraint) that has been placed?

What is the fastest way to constrain 2 rectangles to be 'concentric' in 2D sketch? I mean a particular figure (rectangle) that is center-of-area constrained to another figure's center of area?

Shouldn't mid-line constraint work for parallel lines?

TIA -- Phil

EDIT: I have done draw rectangle by center ... but it's not clear how to make the center explicitly constrained

Last edited: Jul 15, 2020
  2. Hunter

Hunter Senior Member

Two methods I use:

Construct rectangles using the centre option, and constrain their centres to each other.

You can also draw a construction line corner to corner for each rectangle, and constrain the diagonal lines' midpoints to each other.

3. Lew_Merrick

Lew_Merrick Alibre Super User

Hi Phil -- Under :System Options->Parts/Assemblies" is an option defined as "Sketches"
    upload_2020-7-15_12-34-13.png
    You need to make sure tha your Sketching Constraints are visible. Then you can "select & delete" them easily. -- Lew

4. idslk

idslk Alibre Super User

No,
    only to delete them as you self found out.

5. NateLiqGrav

NateLiqGrav Alibre Super User

The thing you might be missing (and I think should be automatic) is that you can't pick two lines in a midpoint constraint. You need to add a sketch node and then midpoint that to the first line and then midpoint it to the second line.

6. HaroldL

HaroldL Alibre Super User

Good catch Nate.

7. Dephil

Dephil New Member

Thanks for the help.

I am now trying to constrain two lines to intersect even though they are on different planes.