1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Help With New Libary Function

Discussion in 'Using Alibre Design' started by RocketNut, Oct 16, 2020 at 2:44 PM.

1. RocketNut

RocketNut Alibre Super User

I am a newbie to the library function, so please help.

I am trying to insert the attached 2 parts to a library as shown in the attached screenshots.

The bolt has a imported STEP I got from a website,. Can I save it in the library also?

Also, where does the library file stored? I want to use it in a lot of designs.

Libary Picture.jpg Dart Project 5 EFI M6 Wand.jpg

Libary Picture.jpg

Attached Files:

Last edited: Oct 16, 2020 at 3:00 PM
  2. idslk

idslk Alibre Super User

have you taken a look in to the help file?
    upload_2020-10-16_23-14-45.png
    Regards
    Stefan

3. RocketNut

So how do I save the bolt in the library?
    According to the help files, I should see the bolt when I click on the M4 bolt, but nothing shows up.

The part was attached to the first post on this thread.

Dart Project 5 EFI M6 Wand #2.jpg Dart Project 5 EFI M6 Wand.jpg

Last edited: Oct 16, 2020 at 9:15 PM
  4. Lew_Merrick

Lew_Merrick Alibre Super User

Sorry Stefan but I find no "help" in any of the "Help Files." It is like unto setting Material Properties in V22 -- a waste of time and effort. -- Lew

JST likes this.
  5. RocketNut

Lew what is there is very confusing and not very clear.

I love the idea of the library because for it will make my life easier.

6. JST

JST Alibre Super User

Regrettably, the help is regarded traditionally as something to be added later, and always gets rushed.

In a sane development process, the help would be the FIRST thing written, so that the actual function as written must conform to it. The help would be essentially a definition of the function and how it is invoked.